The Burn Our Houses Down Series: Burn Our Houses Down

The gripping adventure and interesting narrative of this dystopian love story make for a quick read as the action never lets up with thrills that keep readers hanging onto every word.” -Brandi Bromley, Amazon.com

“I really enjoyed this especially that you aren’t quite sure what exactly the malevolence is which makes it scarier. Of course, you’re right along with the characters, who also are trying to figure it out as they go along. it doesn’t all just fall into place for them, which is very believable.” -Nicole Clark, Amazon.com

“This book really held my attention throughout. I love how different this story was to other post-apocalyptic books I’ve read. I thought it was weird that only New York was touched by this non-human, but human creature. I guess I’ll have to keep reading to know more!” -Heaven Lyanne Flores, Author and Blogger

“The only time I wasn’t reading this was when I was asleep. lol So all in all…I think I read this in under 6 hours. It kept me hooked! Very interesting storyline that sets it apart from other books I have read previously.” -Sheena, Goodreads.com

“Garmendia’s writing is amazeballs (and I think I’ve only ever used that word once or twice here on BB, so that should tell you something). Not too flowerly and full of purple prose. Not too info-dump-y. Her characters are sarcastic, flawed, and three-dimensional. Her dual POVs from both of the main characters, Hayley and Xavier, worked. It’s rare that I think a woman writing from an early-20 year old’s man’s voice works, but she did it expertly. I l really liked Hayley and her snarky comments. And let me just take a minute to acknowledge how much I enjoyed 9 year old Aisley.” -Danie, Goodreads.com and The Bookish Brunette


BOHD_Cover

Hayley and Xavier, two young adults from the small town of Pine Bush, N.Y. have been friends since childhood.

After Hayley’s twin sister dies in a car accident, Xavier is determined to get her out of her funk. They go on a camping trip that is ended abruptly by a wildfire.

When they make into the town in the valley of the Shawangunk Mountains, everyone is missing, all the food is gone and something is in the woods.

Something, not quite human, is at the top of the food chain now.

Leave a Reply

